View Full Version : LR3, AUX Input and iPod


bperkins
01-09-2005, 03:14 PM
I am considering purchasing/ordering a LR3 soon. I will probably order one with the rear DVD and wanted to see if anyone knows whether or not I would be able to use the rear DVD and the AUX input at the same time.

As for playing the iPod...do you simply plug in your AUX cable into the rear AUX outlet and select the AUX from the head unit?

Also is it possible to add the Bluetooth feature later on? My dealer told me that it would be a late introduction (Spring 2005), and he was unsure whether it could be retro fitted...sure hope so.

Thanks,
Brad

Ecosse
01-10-2005, 03:35 AM
Reference all the issues on the non-availability of interface for PTI, I found the following at http://www.carpages.co.uk/land_rover/land_rover_discovery_3_10_11_04.asp?switched=on&echo=80144302
which seems to confirm that the Alpine unit contains the Bus Master and IS flash upgradeable!! (see Nick Baileys final statement)

Mobile multimedia specialist Alpine Electronics has developed a revolutionary headunit for Land Rover’s all-new Discovery 3. In a first for Land Rover, the system combines a display, radio, control panel, 6 disc CD mechanism and bus network master node in the most compact and integrated unit ever designed by Alpine.
The ‘MOST’ system uses a complex fibre optic ring main to connect the different elements of the infotainment system. MOST also allowed Land Rover’s designers to tailor the system to their own taste, giving the freedom to locate the radio tuner separately from the control panel, mechanism and amplifier - bringing both weight and packaging benefits.

The head unit also features an advanced in-dash mechanism with rapid disc change and a rugged anti-skip feature - allowing it to continue to perform wherever the Land Rover ventures.

"This has to be our most flexible installation ever." says Alpine’s Business Manager Nick Bailey. "With the explosion in infotainment technology we’ve kept our options open by incorporating the latest Flash memory so the software can be upgraded to include such options as satellite radio and digital television when they become available."

madtownrover
01-10-2005, 12:28 PM
As for playing the iPod...do you simply plug in your AUX cable into the rear AUX outlet and select the AUX from the head unit?

Yes, that will do it. Only problem I've had is that the volume on the head unit needs to be turned up pretty high. Not a problem unless you forget to turn it down before you switch back to a cd.

mwillems
01-10-2005, 04:28 PM
Yes, that will do it. Only problem I've had is that the volume on the head unit needs to be turned up pretty high. Not a problem unless you forget to turn it down before you switch back to a cd.

And you need to turn the iPod volume up to full volume, too. But it does work!

Alternately you just burn all your favourite tracks as .MP3 to data CD and you play them as CD's. That works very well.

bperkins
01-10-2005, 04:36 PM
Thanks for the info guys. Supposedly Alpine will be releasing an iPod interface for the LR3 this March.

Link (http://lrchroniclepub.proboards29.com/index.cgi?board=land22&num=1098809221&action=display&start=75)

Glad to know that Alpine is thinking ahead on this.

Thanks,
Brad

fbaer
01-17-2005, 10:29 PM
Are you plugging the iPod in using the headphone jack? Both Belkin and Monster make an adapter that has a line out on it, that (with a mini plug to mini plug cable) will plug right into the Aux input, giving the correct input levels. It will sound much better.

I like the belkin better than the Monster, only because the line out is on the lighter plug, where as the monsters is on the dock connecter. Having it on the lighter plug keeps the run audio cable out of your way.

Belkin also makes a new iPod holder that fits in a cup holder, and you can change the angle on the ipod. I will post photos as soon as I get mine all set up, its WAY too cold to mess around in the garage right now.

bperkins
01-18-2005, 09:15 PM
fbaer
Thanks or the info. Yes I plan on using the AUX input on the LR3 whenever it arrives (placed and order last week) and the headphone port of the iPod.

I would love to see the pics of your set up.

Thanks,
Brad

jcarlos
12-07-2005, 12:35 PM
I´ve bought a new LR 3 with a base line audio system (1 CD - 6 speakers). The head unit has a aux key and when you push it "aux" appear on the screen but the audio system doesn´t have an aux input. Does anyone knows what way can I connect an audio input? Thanks.

Jcarlos.

grommet
12-07-2005, 12:41 PM
jcarlos, you can wire up your own AUX input to the stereo head unit. But it will require a little work.

Wire to Pin 7 (left), Pin 8 (right) and Pin 12 (ground) of a connector labeled as C2115 behind the radio head unit.

Use search, probably been covered here.

bperkins
12-07-2005, 12:45 PM
The AUX input is behind the center console near the floor. There is a cover over the port and the auxiliary power port.

grommet
12-07-2005, 12:50 PM
bperkins, vehicles with the "base" 1 CD (non-CD changer) stereo system in most markets are not fitted with the AUX jack.

jcarlos
12-07-2005, 06:57 PM
I´m afraid my LR3 doesn´t have that input. It should exist because it appear on the manual but my car doesn´t actually have that input.

Thanks Brad.

jcarlos
12-07-2005, 07:06 PM
I´ll do. I hope it will work.

Thanks Rover.

bperkins
12-07-2005, 07:12 PM
Sorry guys, I was unaware that they were not fitted to all LR3's. As always....thanks for the help Grommet!

jcarlos
12-09-2005, 08:23 AM
Thanks a lot grommet. I did what you told me and it works perfectly.

jcarlos

andrelee
01-02-2006, 12:51 PM
Hi Jcarlos,

can you explain me how did you do it? I got a LR3 ( base) have no aux input........

Did you do it by yourself?

Andre Lee

jcarlos
01-13-2006, 01:25 PM
Hi Andre,

I´ll try to help you. First of all , you have to remove the dashboard part covering the audio head unit. That´s quite easy, you just have to pull and easily it will be removed. Then you have to unscrew the audio head unit, the airconditioning control and the doors´ lock unit. This means 10 screws.
Now you have access to the rear part of the head unit where you can see two connectors.
The one on the left has four wires (black , red, blue and white). That is our connector. We have to connect the audio device output to the black=ground, blue=left and red=right. I did it by cutting the wires and putting two connectors but you also can weld them.
I hope this to be useful.

jcarlos

nkta
01-16-2006, 07:12 PM
Alpine has a unit called VehicleHub that supposedly can be connected to the headunit and facilitates additional connections for Ipod, dvd, rear view camera and some other devices. Does anyone have experience with this Alpine unit?

grommet
01-16-2006, 07:22 PM
Alpine's Vehiclehub is just a standalone "controller" device with audio and video output. There is no real integration. (To use with LR3, you'd need to wire up the video output to the Navigation screen... probably using the expensive Nav-TV "tuner" hack.)

See the marketing: http://www.alpine-usa.com/products/leading_technology/leading_tech_vhub.htm

I know a few people with this in their vehicle. It has it's own wireless "remote" to navigate the UI.

nkta
01-17-2006, 12:37 PM
Thanks for the info & clarification. R/nick