Newbie Question re Heavy Duty Package

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

badgerbimmer

Reaction score
HI all Newbie here. I have been looking at trading my Rubican for an LR4. I was certain that I would want the "Heavy Duty" package. A sales person at a dealership just told me something that confused the issue a bit for me. Wanted to run this by yawl to check it out. This is what he said "The 2012 & 2013 LR4s have a 2 speed transfer case, the HD package gave you a locking diff. The 2014 & 2015s did not have a 2 speed transfer case unless you order the HD package, which gives you the 2 speed transfer case and the locking rear diff".

Is this correct? Thanks!

Hoyas06

Full Access Member
Reaction score
correct. the switch-over occurred for model year 14.

epiclr4

Full Access Member
Reaction score
HI all Newbie here. I have been looking at trading my Rubican for an LR4. I was certain that I would want the "Heavy Duty" package. A sales person at a dealership just told me something that confused the issue a bit for me. Wanted to run this by yawl to check it out. This is what he said "The 2012 & 2013 LR4s have a 2 speed transfer case, the HD package gave you a locking diff. The 2014 & 2015s did not have a 2 speed transfer case unless you order the HD package, which gives you the 2 speed transfer case and the locking rear diff".

Is this correct? Thanks!

This is correct. Key item being the full size spare tire. If you check under the back of the vehicle and it has a steel wheel then it does not have the HD Package. Or if you look at the 4x4 settings on the infotainment and only see a single lock in the middle.

Motor Trend has a great site for these kind of historic items.
2012 Land Rover LR4 Packages

badgerbimmer

Reaction score