97 discovery intermittent no power

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

gutlesswonder

Reaction score
Hey all, New discovery owner here. I'm a mechanic by trade, ase certified in electrical systems and advanced electrical diagnosis, so ihopefully won't need too much help, but the problem is that i don't have a scan tool at the moment, especially not one that will do live data or manufacturer specific codes.

So, now that that's out of the way: the car drives fine until it decides very suddenly that it doesn't want to. In the 800 miles since i bought the car, it's done it twice, once right after a warm start, once after pulling into a parking lot to turn around. The car acts like it's starving for fuel, it's not a spark related misfire, there's no sharpness to it, it just falls on it's face if you try to give it any gas, and it doesn't have enough power to go over 25.

The first time it happened, i was in a residential area. After driving like this for a mile or so with no improvement i started to smell that lovely rotten egg smell of overheated cat, so i pulled over, turned it off and checked under the hood. I didn't see anything obviously wrong, so just for giggles i pulled the maf plug and tried to start it. It started and died, i tried again with a little throttle, and it stayed running. A quick test drive showed more power than ever. Ok, so far so good. Idrive home with the maf unplugged and it makes it no more problems.

Fast forward thru a cat replacement (it was rattling badly and driving me nuts) and new plugs (because **** Champions), i bought a new chinabay air meter because it was cheap enough to warrant having on hand as a tester, which iended up installing along with a new air filter.