LR3 Oil Change - Anything to watch out for?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

voltaire1102

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the Land Rover world and I have a 2005 LR3 HSE. with 51,000 miles on it. I purchased it two weeks ago and I would like to give her the first oil change. I've always performed my own oil changes but I am a little hesitant to do this on the LR3. I'm fairly proficient under the hood but is there anything that I need to look out for? Any tricks or tips? Last thing I want is a trip to the dealership because I make a stupid mistake. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.:confused:

morrisdl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the club. 8 quarts may be bigger than your typical catch basin. It also shoot out a fair bit laterally, so shift it appropriately. I use a floor jack to move the skid plates.

huelsmma

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah dont let it pour all over your face...im experienced at this. Had my face towards the drain plug when i unscrewed it and there is alot of pressure when it pours out:)

Team Jeff

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm new to the Land Rover world and I have a 2005 LR3 HSE. with 51,000 miles on it. I purchased it two weeks ago and I would like to give her the first oil change. I've always performed my own oil changes but I am a little hesitant to do this on the LR3. I'm fairly proficient under the hood but is there anything that I need to look out for? Any tricks or tips? Last thing I want is a trip to the dealership because I make a stupid mistake. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.:confused:

Congrats on your purchase & welcome to the site!

The oil change is just like any other. Nothing special, with the exception of the inability to reset the oil change monitor with out an electronic tool.

Mhaise57

Full Access Member