Advice on a LandRover as a weekender car

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

bricke

Reaction score
Hello everyone, congrats for the forum, plenty of good info!
I am Matt and with my wife we are looking for a weekender car, we are outdoor people and every weekend we ride to the coast for biking, hiking and camping.

I am not a pro when talking about LandRovers, I only need enough space to load my bikes, maybe a roof tent. We often do gravel and fire roads so it has to be tough and reliable.

I would prefer to stay under the $20k with all the extra parts I need, I searched the web to get to know more but I am really confused about pricing, I can easily found a 2007/2008 Range Rover Supercharged for 17k with 150k miles on it (more or less), but when I search for a 2009 pricing goes up a lot more and I really don't know why (I guess new motor?).

Maybe I should buy a 2003/2004/2005 and spent some money on make it more rugged within the budget I have.

I am looking for some general advice and more than anything, what YOU would do with that budget to build a weekender car?

Note: I am based in NorCal.

Thank you

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum. If it is just weekends only, but an 04 disco and with that budget the world is your limit. As far as the supercharged RR goes, it wouldn't be my first pick for off road use. You could even get an older LR3 and do lots to it and still be within budget. If Range Rover is what you want you will be more limited to setting up for more off road use. Don't get me wrong they are all tough and ride better than say a jeep wrangler, but the RR isn't what I would look for in a weekend off road vehicle.

bricke

Reaction score
Hi Joey, thank you for the reply.