New member - considering LR4 HSE

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

hayasa

Reaction score
Hello all -

Couple of questions as I'm very new to the LR world being mostly a German car fan for most of my life. Need a bigger car for a variety of reasons - off road adventures, hauling stuff, good towing abilities, etc., and was considering a variety of options. Was really thinking an old MB G-Wagon was in my future but I just can't deal with all the old technology in those old beasts. Don't think I am an American pick-up kind of guy either.

A few questions about the 2014 LR4 HSE before I make a stop over my local dealer and get them all spun up:

1. Is there some sort of run on the cars? Meaning, if I wanted to custom order one, how long does it take before I can take her home?

2. Is it true that the 2015s won't be released until the end of the year? Most other brands are now putting out 2015 from the factories.

3. Regarding towing, is the towing package on the HSE included? I didn't see it as an option or accessory on the build-your-car part of the website.

4. Also, being new to towing in general, I'm confused about the ratings and requirements. I just want to tow a rally car to and from events in an open trailer, probably rented from a local Uhaul place. Not sure if they have proper braked trailers, though, that would match the LR4's requirements.

5. Considering that I want to do some serious off-roading, I was thinking of adding the winch package. Can this be added later or would it be best to have it put on at the factory? Different front fascia?

6. And finally (for now at least), dumb question: are the side vents on the LR4 functional or cosmetic only. If so, what are they actually venting?

umbertob

Full Access Member
Reaction score