WHEEL and TIRE DILEMMA WITH LR4's

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

DWarner

Reaction score
Hi guys. I'm a newbie to the Forum as I'm new to LR ownership as well, but have used the site for information for a few months. Thank you to those who've contributed to my learning about the vehicles...

We purchased a 2013 HSE in Mariana Black a few months back and I promptly started researching the aftermarket wheel and tire options available for the truck. It took about a month before we were able to square something away because as many of you are aware, due to the vehicles size, there aren't a lot of options available.

Hopefully some of the information I learned in the process will be helpful for someone who wants to go with a larger wheel and tire package going forward...

If your LR4 comes stock with the 19" wheels and 255/55/19 tire package, a reputable establishment will likely advise you to stay away from any size larger than a 20" rim. This is due to the load rating on our 19" tires. They are rated at 111 which guarantees they'll hold up to around 2500lbs per wheel. The same size tire with a rating lower than 111 is deemed too light to carry the weight of our LR4s.

This 111 load rating makes it difficult to find many tires in 19s' or 20s', and impossible to find in 22" sizes.

If your LR4 comes stock with the 20" wheel and tire package, the tires provided then, for some reason, only have a load rating of 110, which will hold around 2300 pounds per corner.