Buying my very first Land Rover! Help appreciated :)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

khan0209

Reaction score
I'm getting ready to buy my very first Land Rover, so basically I'm a complete noob and would like some feedback.

First some background:
I live in the San Francisco Bay Area, and my daily drivers are a company car provided to me and a bmw 328i. I have a not so small now 5 month old golden retriever that is still rapidly growing and I've decided neither of my cars are ideal for taking my dog around, so I made the logical decision to get a used Land Rover.

I'm planning to use the car pretty much only when I need to drive my dog around or go on long distance road trips/camping trips. Essentially I would only drive it sometimes on the weekends and holidays. I would venture a guess and say the Land Rover will see around 5000 miles a year, possibly even less. I also set a budget for myself of $10,000 (including tax)

Based on my budget, the following are the models I'm considering:
2005-2008 LR3
2006 and up Range Rover Sport or HSE
2008 and up LR2

There are a lot of these vehicles around me, and they range from 90k miles (right around the $10k price point), to nearly 200k miles (around $5k). I know I can get older models years of the Range Rover, but based on what I read from forums, the 2006 year and up has better reliability (feel free to tell me otherwise!)