Help on Decision - 97 Disco

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

V

vandermeulen

Hello all, I am a total newbie to the Land Rover world. I joined because I have always loved them and want a true 4x4. (I used to do a fair bit in the Canadian Rockies and Foothills). I've been checking out these vehicles for a while and have been looking in my area for a Discovery. I found a 97' Disco at a local dealer and it seems to be in great shape. It started, shifted and made no unusual sounds without any probs. The windows, a/c, lights etc.....all work. The only issue I have is that the vehicle has 207000 km (128000 miles) on it. The abs light and check engine light are also on. (I heard this is common on Disco's). The dealer is giving me a 2 year powertrain (engine, tranny, 4x4) warranty and has all up to date service records. The vehicle seems extremely clean (no major rust anywhere - even underneath). Any opinions or things I should be looking more closely at? I want to use this as a daily driver as well as a recreation vehicle for now. Thanks!

Slam

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
How much are they asking? Do you really want a vehicle with that many miles on it? I would be looking for one with lower miles because I love to drive my 97' and I tend to put a LOT of miles on it.

V

vandermeulen