Weight distribution hitch

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

stufrowin

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Looking for a little more insight on weight distribution hitch and the LR4. If anyone has a good resource please let me know.

What I have read:
-the manual says never do it
-people subjectively say it's bad with air suspension
-others have alluded to the problem being the oem hitch could snap off

I'm not an engineer, but it seems logical to have the weight transferred to both axles given the natural weight distribution is close to 50/50.

I have a 20ft toy hauler UVW 4000lbs and GVW 7000lbs. I'd like to get a tongue weight scale and double check, but my estimate is I'm at about 650lbs on tongue (i don't load up trailer with much weight and storage tanks are rear of axles, I know propane tanks and batteries are heavy)

It came with a WDH and I've used it with minimal tensioning seems to drive great.

Just looking for extra info on the subject. Obviously difficult to set up the WDH in the normal fashion as the suspension would try to correct itself. It won't sag in the back because my air suspension is functional, but that doesn't mean the front won't be lighter than normal. I'd love to spend an hour at a truck scale and try different combinations of axles on and off the scale to see what's really going on.

Thanks,
Stuart

stufrowin

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks I saw that thread a while ago but several new pages since my last visit. So still no verdict than, except that a lot of others are using weight distribution systems.

mpinco

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Some are using a WDH, some are not. I do not with my spread axle trailer. Difficult to ask a trailer shop because most are not familiar with EAS Rovers. Land Rover itself doesn't offer or even recommend a WDH, at least not that i have seen/read.