Wth are a/c drains on 98 Disco I??

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Magnustampa

Reaction score
I am fairly certain we have nailed the cause. A/C works great but water (not coolant nor other fluids) backs up onto the passenger floor. Without the a/c on, no problems. I am also told that there are two drain lines for the a/c that run along the tranny tunnel and can be unblocked with a hanger, q-tip, etc...What I don't know is where they actually are??

See, this is my first Rover (no mods that I am aware of), it has only 60k miles on the original engine (according to CarFax, first owner drove it to FL, owned 5 years, drove 50k miles, second owner kept it in FL, owned 5 years, drove 5k miles or so). I am no mechanic, but I have changed a water pump or two, but for the life of me cannot identify what is the "tranny tunnel" nor find these two small lines?

I have heard that they run to the back of the vehicle, and on some models (maybe just newer ones) that they have a pointy rubber plug with a cross cut into it to help with draining? I am at a total loss here, having spent 3-4 hours under this thing with no luck. Did I mention that the drivers window is the only one that doesn't work? :help:

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
lay down on the ground with your head near the front of the drivers or passengers door with feet at rear of vehicle.

Slide under the Disco till you look up and see the transmission. On each side if you look up you will see a hose with what will look like an ****** attached to the end. You can either remove the ****** and the reattach or squeeze the ****** or stick something into the ******... either way you will get covered is some nasty oily water.

Magnustampa

Reaction score
excellent!