1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

2011 LR4 Fuel gauge reading Zero

Discussion in 'LR4' started by Jrkramer76, Oct 12, 2019.

  1. Jrkramer76

    Jrkramer76 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Location:
    Usa
    Just joined the site after spending the last day looking for answers on our no fuel reading glitch the last two days in our 2011 LR4. I read a thread here yesterday regarding the same thing happening to a LR3 and it turned out to be the wiring harness had a severed "green" rear fuel tank sensor wire where it rubbed against the frame of the truck. I took off the front paasenger side inner wheel housing but didn't find the wire harness located in the same spot. I figured it was worth a try even thought the engines are different. Does anyone happen to know where the wires from the fuel tank are routed towards the front of the vehicle? I am having trouble tracking them towards the front of the engine bay. I am hoping the the wires are pinched and grounded out along the way somewhere. Next step will be to drop the tank and install both front and rear sensors...

    Thanks!
     
  2. ktm525

    ktm525 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,092
    Likes Received:
    428
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    alberta
    This mostly happens to mine when my daughter drives it. ;)
     
    TheWidup and cperez like this.
  3. Jeff Wright

    Jeff Wright New Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2019
    Location:
    Oregon
     
  4. jaguardoc504

    jaguardoc504 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    411
    Likes Received:
    91
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2014
    There is actually a TSB on this, for the in tank connections.
    I had a different problem though.
    A rodent chewed the wires on the top of my tank
    Only way to know is to drop the tank and inspect everything.
     
  5. Jrkramer76

    Jrkramer76 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Location:
    Usa
    Ok thanks for the tips, everything has been up and running for the last 5 days.. I’m hoping it was a sticking float/sensor in the tank.. we’ll see

    thanks!!
     
  6. remember5

    remember5 Full Access Member

    Posts:
    182
    Likes Received:
    45
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Mine (LR3) did that, went to empty then started working for a couple of days, went to zero, then started working again then finally stayed on empty. I replaced the two sending units and that fixed it but now I have some kind of starting issue that I think may be related to my pulling the tank out, but can't confirm and really need to spend a day figuring out what the codes are telling me.
     
  7. Jrkramer76

    Jrkramer76 Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2019
    Location:
    Usa
    Ugh... good luck.. 10 days later ours seems to have “Self healed” itself still.. I will comment anything changes.
     
  8. backroadnomad

    backroadnomad Member

    Age:
    43
    Posts:
    13
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    May 19, 2018
    Location:
    McKinney, TX
    It can't be trusted anyway. I was two miles from a gas station, screen said range was 9 miles, and I ran out of gas.
     
  9. gsxr

    gsxr Full Access Member

    Posts:
    352
    Likes Received:
    122
    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Location:
    Idaho
    I found the gauge was pretty accurate for the first few tanks after we bought the LR4, until I accepted some software/firmware (?) updates from the GAP IID tool. Ever since that "upgrade", the fuel gauge has been non-linear... I typically drive 75 miles (~5 gallons) before the bar graph moves off the top line of Full, which it never did before, and is clearly wrong. And the reading can't be trusted below 1/4 tank; including the reserve warning, which may trigger either early or late. The truck already had a new sending unit installed by the dealer a few years ago so I'm semi-confident that's not the issue.

    Anyway: I reset the trip odometer at each fillup, and after 300-320 miles, I look for a convenient time to fill up even if the reserve light hasn't come on. Sometimes it turns out the gauge was pretty close, other times it has NOT been. Very, very frustrating that something this simple can't work properly.


    :hmmmm:
     
    Jrkramer76 likes this.

Share This Page