95 Disc w/ persistent O2 & TPS codes, and idle stalling

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

alj

Reaction score
Hi! Greetings.
This is a rather large post w/ 3 problems, for those that may want to skip.

Context: I am a learning analyst, with growing skills and with now some extra time (recently unemployed, but w/ less money these days btw) to work on this wonderful vehicle - love it! - Jeep convert - The goal is off-road use for fun & eventually work - My experience is both reading and working on the discovery for the last year, off and on

I'm looking for hints please on a 95 Discovery with a persistent 44 O2 sensor (possibly 45 as well) that keeps re-appearing after clearing codes.

Symptoms:
1) only occasional, however at cold running sluggish, and improves over time to either stellar (if I've recently cleared codes) or fairly good..., this improvement is mainly when giving a fairly large amount of gas when warm at high rpm - it starts out feeling like it's running on 4-6 cylinders or timing is off - half the time it runs fine when cold, the other half either really sluggish and improves when warm, or it starts out slightly sluggish and improves when warm - for awhile I was able to clear the sluggishness again by giving a fair amount of gas at high rpm, like it was blowing something thru the inj's and clearing or unsticking - O2 sensors are coated with black carbon after awhile - I can usually tell when the computer has thrown a 44 again (after clearing the O2 code(s), and the 2 code 'power interrupt' is currently lit) - it gets slightly sluggish after driving for awhile, and the sound of the exhaust is deeper and louder