Buying Tips for 2009-2012 HSE

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jducote

Reaction score
I am new to the site and would like to know some considerations when purchasing a pre-owned 2009-2012 HSE. Any advice is appreciated.

spawnywhippet

Reaction score
While I am not an expert, I do my own maintenance and repairs, so my advice is aimed at the kind of person who will do their own PPI and maintenance. I would aim for the 2012+ model, which has a better 5.0 V8 from Jaguar. The earlier BMW motors often had timing chain issues by 100k miles.
  • The transmission is an expensive service. Land Rover says it has a lifetime fluid, whereas ZF who make the transmission says it should be changed at 75k miles. To do this job as per Land Rover, you need to drop the subframe, exhausts and then drop the pan with built in filter, takes many hours. Alternatively, you just drop the pan, saw off the filter neck and reinstall a BMW pan with replaceable filter. No need to drop all the subframe and exhausts and the job is much cheaper as you only need to replace the filter and fluid from then on.
  • The infotainment system runs quite slowly (at least on my 2012 HSE). Takes up to 2 seconds to respond to a command.
  • Front control arms often need doing between 50 and 70k miles.
  • Some LR4's don't have roof rack mounts, 3rd row of seats or tow pack electrics, check this carefully if you need them.
  • Check the underneath carefully for corrosion, I believe a few of the cars suffered galvanic corrosion which was extremely difficult to remove and very expensive.
  • Scan the car for codes, you will often find a lot of dormant or benign codes caused by flat batteries, so clear them, take a long drive then scan again. Especially check the timing if you have an advanced scanner.