Considering Purchasing a Discovery - need Help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

B

BrianAg95

Hi,

i am considering purchasing a Discovery. Discovery is in my top 3. But I have never owned one, nor known anyone who has owned one so I have no first hand knowledge of these vehicles... A lot of my research is making me leary of the vehicle, so I need some hard information from those of you who own them.

1 - I have heard that these require a medium to high amount of maintanence, and tht maintanence is expensive, what's the real deal?

2 - I have read that car seats are difficult to put into the back seat due to the rear wheel well's cutting into the rear seats, true/false/other?

3 - I have read the gas milage is terrible, and that they can be underpowered, hows the engine?

4 - I wanted to only spend 7k tops on a vehicle. so this means I am looking at 97-99 Disco's. What are the differences in these year models?

5 - What else should I know?

Thanks in advance

Mudquest

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There are a lot of folks here that can have some very usefull advice. I recently purchased a used Disco II about three months back because of a new arrival into the family and the infant seat wouldn't fit into the Wranger, so a few of my thoughts are:

Re: 1) Yes. These vehicles need to be maintained well, but they can also treat you well very well too. There are known issues that can be addressed from time to time, but if the engine and drive train are well maintained, you should be in good shape for the most part. Extensive engine repairs, and major mechanical work can be very expensive.