Engine cover

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JDiehl

Reaction score
Other than looks does the plastic engine cover have any functional purpose? I'm a little strange but after getting home from a long trip I raise the hood in an effort to minimize heat soak. The plastic cover just seems to trap the heat in even longer.

JD

PaulLR3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I think the plastic engine cover is just for decoration. On my old Audi allroad with twin turbos, I used to let it idle for a while before turning it off after a long trip. And most allroad owners pulled off and discarded the plastic engine cover that just trapped more heat.

umbertob

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah, it's just there to hide the "ugly" guts of the engine, it serves no purpose otherwise. I have been scratching my head at those vanity engine covers for a few years now, everyone seems to be doing it, even manufacturers that one assumes would be proud to show off their "*****" engine. Even Corvettes have them! I doubt removing it would make any difference at all in heat dissipation, but go ahead and remove it if you wish. At least they made that easy on the LR4. On my old 4.4 liter RRS it didn't simply pop off, there were screws and retainers involved. Save the cover for when it's time to trade it in, though.

ryanjl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It might do a little to attenuate cabin noise from the engine, but I doubt it.

Lgibson

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Not to hijack, but I wish the engine compartment stayed cleaner. The cover seems not to help or hurt. I'm guessing most of the dirt and water staining comes through the grill. Not a fan of spraying water inside to clean it, though, because of the many valleys for accumulation. The dust seems to cling enough to resist compressed air.

PaulLR3

Full Access Member
Reaction score