1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Gap IIDTool Issue - Device not Found

Discussion in 'LR4' started by keya, Nov 24, 2020.

  1. keya

    keya Active Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2020
    Location:
    San Diego, ca
    Hello,
    I have received two IIDTool BTs already (From Lucky8 and GAP) and when I try to update them, I get the same error. "IIDTool not Found Please ensure that the device is connected".

    -I have tried two Macs (Catalina and BigSur) and one PC (Windows 10) already.
    -3 different USB cables.
    -2 IIDTools.

    I don't think any of the computers are detecting the IIDTool!

    Does anyone have any advice for me? I feel pretty stuck as the GAP Support (All email. No one to call directly), hasn't been able to figure out the issue. I can't program a key as the IIDTool needs to be updated.

    Thanks!
    Screen Shot 2020-11-24 at 2.38.09 PM.png
     
  2. DaytonaRS7

    DaytonaRS7 Full Access Member

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    377
    Likes Received:
    186
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2020
    Location:
    11743
    I had this error. Ended up being a faulty tool. Had it replaced and the replacement worked fine.

    Weird it would happen 2x in a row to you
     
    keya likes this.
  3. keya

    keya Active Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2020
    Location:
    San Diego, ca
    Anybody else before I ask for a third tool to be shipped out to me? haha
     
  4. cperez

    cperez Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    658
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Location:
    Bethesda, Maryland, USA
    I have had a few questions about registering my device and other things and Patrick always got back to me within 24 hours. It might be something simple especially if this will be your 3rd device. Personally I would wait for a reply to see if it’s something on your side.
     
    keya and Michael Gain like this.
  5. keya

    keya Active Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2020
    Location:
    San Diego, ca
    Patrick is giving up on me since he can’t figure it out! Lol My next step is to try using new cables and other computers. Starting to feel like the insanity definition!
     
  6. LB Bill

    LB Bill Active Member

    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    16
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Location:
    California
    I hope that's not the case because I just ordered one from Lucky8's Black Friday Sale ($428 total w/free shipping!). I won't have it for a few days, but I'll post how it goes. You've probably considered this, but perhaps security on you Mac or security software may be blocking the device connection...maybe need to authorize it? Thanks for posting..hope you can get it working..Let us know.
     
    keya likes this.
  7. cperez

    cperez Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,553
    Likes Received:
    658
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2014
    Location:
    Bethesda, Maryland, USA
    I never used to believe that cables could “go bad” but it’s happened enough times that I start suspecting them if basic methods don’t fix an issue. Good luck.
     
    Robert Kinsler and keya like this.
  8. Quijote

    Quijote Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,159
    Likes Received:
    262
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2013
    Location:
    Metro Boston
    For a device costing THAT much, they really ought to perform final inspection. And I'm even looking at it from the customer experience side, which is at best very annoying. I say this from a production yield rate & cost perspective.
     
    LB Bill and keya like this.
  9. keya

    keya Active Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2020
    Location:
    San Diego, ca
    At this point, I take any suggestion. Thank you! In Mac under privacy -> Accessibility, it's not coming up. Also, I don't see it poping up under Security & Privacy -> General -> Allow apps downloaded

    I hope that you have a better experience. Let me know how it goes for you! You might be getting a device from the same production lot as I did! I bought mine from Lucky8 too.
     
  10. keya

    keya Active Member

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    26
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2020
    Location:
    San Diego, ca
    Agreed. GAP is telling me that they have shipping +10K to customers and they hardly see any issue but that's a general statement and I don't have any data in hand! I might be the lucky one with two faulty devices. Also, in the manufacturing of semiconductor, we don't consider our testing good if we don't have about +500K data points :) Maybe electronics are different. I will ask GAP if they test USB connectivity before shipping every unit out.

    It could be my problem but it seems odd as I have tried 2 Mac machines and one Windows. It shouldn't be this difficult to update the device. They both work fine connecting the rig and my iPhone. I just can't update the firmware via the USB connection.
     
    LB Bill likes this.

Share This Page