Gasoline to use

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sharpeirescue

Reaction score
Hi I'm a novice car owner and i have a 2014 supercharged LR4 and i'm wondering as i see that it is recommended to use premium 93 octane gas but off the record is it really required? is 87octane or 89 octane okay to use?

djkaosone

'11 LR4 HSE LUX 5.0L V8
Reaction score
Especially a supercharged motor, you want 91 octane and up. If you're in a state that offers 93, get it. Forced air pretty much requires a higher octane to reduce pinging or knocking, because it's tuned for it from factory. Running a lower octane could damage your engine and if you have extended warranty, it'll immediately void it.

ryanjl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Even in the V8 engine, that long video that was posted somewhere on here (seems like a master mechanic giving a Ted Talk to other mechanics on the ins and outs of the 5.0 V8) stated that he sees a lot of problems when people use lower octane.

Bottom line is you own a premium vehicle. Don't cheap out on gas.

ktm525

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi I'm a novice car owner and i have a 2014 supercharged LR4 and i'm wondering as i see that it is recommended to use premium 93 octane gas but off the record is it really required? is 87octane or 89 octane okay to use?
She drinks premium and lots of it.

doc5339

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yup, even a naturally aspirated AJ133 5.0 V8 really needs high octane (91 minimum) due to the high compression ratio. The ECU can ****** timing to a degree to try and prevent pre-ignition, but these really are performance engines and they need highest octane available (as well as better detergents in said fuels).

PaulLR3

Full Access Member
Reaction score