iPhone Cable Connection

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rkrichter

Reaction score
Hi everyone — new to the board here, but have always browsed for help.

I have a 2011 LR4 Black Metropolis Edition in case anyone was interested in knowing, but my question has to do with the iPod cable connection. I have never used it before, just relying on my USB stick to do the trick. But with the recent release of iTunes Radio and iTunes Match (basically providing you with your entire library on your iPhone) I thought it would be a good idea to try the cable out.

I bought this cable from Amazon:
http://www.amazon.com/iPhone-Land-Rover-Discovery-interface/dp/B0084UJMS4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1381146388&sr=8-1&keywords=land+rover+ipod+cable

I have an iPhone 5s, so I also bought the lightning to 30-pin connector (from Apple, not a third party one). When I connect everything it charges my iPhone, but I get this message: "device error" and it doesn't play my music.

Do you think the cable I bought is third market and not a good idea to use or do you think there could be a problem with my wires from the armrest to the dashboard? Or maybe both? Haha. I guess my real question is whether anyone has been able to use iOS7 and iTunes Radio/Match with their Land Rover using the connection cable?

Thanks!

Kaaae

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I can but I have a 2012 and the connection is different (straight usb connection). I will defer to those who use the cables...

rkrichter

Reaction score
I can but I have a 2012 and the connection is different (straight usb connection). I will defer to those who use the cables...

So what you are saying is I should probably just buy a newer LR? Haha just joking. Thanks for the response. Hopefully I get some advice from fellow cable connectors.

AxelR

Full Access Member
Reaction score