Just exceeded warranty, where is everyone buying oil and Filters from to perform fluid change

ktm525

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2017
Posts
2,137
Reaction score
961
Location
alberta
The one and only reason 0W is spec'd is for fuel economy. For me I don't like large spreads on the low and high viscosity numbers. Prefer to keep as tight as possible. If I was somewhere warm I would probably be rocking a 10W-30
 
Joined
Apr 26, 2021
Posts
24
Reaction score
9
Location
Seattle
LR Time recently had a YT video about changing the oil viscosity for the diesel LR4 engine. Part of what caught my attention was the research he had done on actual viscosity, and what was driving the pursuit of lower viscosities: emissions and mileage at the expense of engine wear.

He talked about the oil company web sites leading him wrong on what spec oil to use; not the 5W-30 part, but other relevant specs. The net result of the video was that he determined that a 5W-40 C3 oil, not the original spec of 5W-30 B1/B3. He’d looked into the HTHS specs across oils and tried to match up to what the OEM spec original oil was supposed to be. Then he added an increment to the upper viscosity number to try to get the oil pressure back to where it was supposed to be on his higher mileage engine.

It did get me wondering about the 0W-20 A1 spec oil I’m using on the SCV6, particularly when I’m going to be off-roading in Moab this summer. That oil just seems water-thin to me. But…if that’s what the manufacturer calls for, I guess best leave well enough alone.
FYI, that was on their TDV6 in the Discovery 3, which is a different engine design than the diesel available in the Discovery 4. Over on the Disco3.uk.co forums there is disagreement about this oil recommendation. The LR mechanics there stand by the 5w30 recommendation.

To each their own!
 

txfromwi

Full Access Member
Joined
Dec 18, 2013
Posts
258
Reaction score
82
Location
2013 in Houston and the 2016 in Rochester NY
Purchase the socket - eventually with sockets from all my past vehicles I will have a full set - maybe...

I only use OEM specified fluids and OEM filters, the oil has been more difficult to purchase lately, but I typically purchase enough so that I have supplies for 1 complete change in my garage at all times. As soon as I use it, I purchase for another 1 or 2 complete changes . AB or FCP Euro as vendors.
 

Balto

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Posts
70
Reaction score
7
Location
AZ
2015 LR4 here and I put in Redline 5W20, buy from Amazon and ACDelcro filters from Amazon As well.
 

timc930

Full Access Member
Joined
Nov 13, 2018
Posts
186
Reaction score
74
Location
Mt P SC
FCP Euro, I've only paid for one oil change since we've owned this truck. Cost me around $15 to send it back.
 

machmike

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2016
Posts
135
Reaction score
25
I've always put in 8 qts. It's perfect level on the digital gauge. IIRC, get an 89mm oil filter wrench for the canister cap. It fits with less play than the normal 90.

So your level should be 1 notch below MAX on the digital dipstick correct with 8Q?

I read elsewhere on this forum it should be 8L not 8Q. Just want to make sure I have enough oil in when I change.
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
35,404
Posts
208,357
Members
29,704
Latest member
D4Dude
Top