LR4 2015 - replacing front brake sensor cable

Discussion in 'LR4' started by hiker, Sep 14, 2018.

  1. hiker

    hiker New Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Hi there,

    Replaced the brake pads and tried to install new sensor wire - removed the wheel arch liner, but on this model the cable seems to terminate inside the engine bay.
    Have downloaded Bodsys Brake Bible - (LR4 up to 2012) where it shows terminating in connector box behind arch lining.

    Does anyone know where it terminates (preferably from first hand experience)

    thanks
     
  2. Kabooom2199

    Kabooom2199 New Member

    Age:
    52
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2016
    My 2010 ends just in in the arch of the wheel well. You have to open up the black plastic wheel well just enough to get the connecting plug. It's not simple but it's there. Good luck.
     
  3. ryanjl

    ryanjl Full Access Member

    Posts:
    628
    Likes Received:
    203
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Location:
    KCMO
    Just FYI, if you are changing your pads before the sensor went off, you can just re-use the existing sensor.
     
  4. hiker

    hiker New Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks for your responses - much appreciated! I changed the pads because the sensor light came on, but in reality the pads were still about 60% good! I cleaned and replaced the sensor but a couple of days later the light returned and has stayed on - so removed the wheel arch lining but cannot see the terminator. Have heard 'on the grapevine' that the last 2 years of the model (2014 - 2016) have a different terminator arrangement - possibly in the battery / fuse bay.
     
  5. ktm525

    ktm525 Full Access Member

    Age:
    48
    Posts:
    392
    Likes Received:
    101
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2017
    Location:
    alberta
    That sucks. Either reuse the sensor or possibly splice the new one onto the old?
     
  6. hiker

    hiker New Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2018
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thanks ktm525 - have tried to reuse - today will try splicing!
     

Share This Page