LR4 Xenon + LED signature lights

Discussion in 'LR4' started by Webecinya, Apr 6, 2019.

  1. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Hi all just sold my LR3 and picked up a 2012 LR4 base with halogen lights. I want xenon and the LED signature lights. I’ll use the gap Id tool to activate the xenon option, that’s the easy part.

    The hard part is locating the headlight assembly with xenon and LEDs but not the AFD adaptive headlight option.

    Looking at part numbers on the top of the lights there seems to be soooo many variants. I’ve read on here where some owners with HSE didn’t have LED options so some lights might have xenon but not LEDs. To throw more confusion here it seems every year ‘10-‘13 have different part numbers.

    Anyone know how to get the exact lights I need? Most sellers don’t have pics of them in operation as that would be the easiest way to know.



    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  2. ryanjl

    ryanjl Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Location:
    KCMO
    All xenon light housings have the LED signature lights. Keep in mind, though, that, prior to the 2014 front end facelift, the LED lights only come on when the headlights are on. After 2014, the LED lights were on all the time as DRLs.

    My 12 had the Halogen headlights with the LED lights. When I bought xenon housings, I just searched for housings that had "non-AFS" in the listing. This all said, one poster here recently said they bought AFS housings and they worked fine in his non-AFS vehicle.
     
  3. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    So when I get the correct lights fitted, I can’t enable DRL for just the LEDs? I thought that was a function in the gap tool.



    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. TheWidup

    TheWidup Full Access Member

    Age:
    41
    Posts:
    364
    Likes Received:
    142
    Joined:
    May 25, 2018
    Location:
    Grayslake, IL, USA
    There's a jumper you can make to keep the LEDs on as full time DRLs. Search around the forum for it.
     
  5. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    So these trucks shown in pics are driving with parking lights on to enable LEDs?

    [​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. ryanjl

    ryanjl Full Access Member

    Posts:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    592
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    Location:
    KCMO
    Yeah, I suppose so.

    You can put the 2014+ headlight housings in a 2013 or older LR4. You'll need the GAP tool to enable the DRL LEDs, and you'll also at least need an updated 2014+ grill. For the full swap, you'll need a bumper for a 2014+, but powerfuluk makes a little trim piece that can fill in a gap and let you keep using your current bumper (it's also a good place to buy the 2014+ grill).
     
  7. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    I’ve considered the newer lights but the costs of those with xenon lights alone are nuts. The grill and trim pieces are not bad and they all look great but I was hoping to just get my LED fix without spending a ton.

    I swear I’ve seen stock trucks running around with just LEDs on while driving without headlights. I know they aren’t likely doing a jumper either.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    The updated lights only come with led strips with xenon correct? In other words are there halogen with leds?

    Couldn’t find anything on the jumper?
     
  9. avslash

    avslash Full Access Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    471
    Likes Received:
    298
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Location:
    The Lone Star State

    That was me.

    I hoped to activate the afs, but no joy so far. Can't find a headlight non-afs ECU to replace with an afs ECU. Thinking the non-Afs trucks don't have a separate ECU.

    The afs headlights themselves work fine.

    If anyone knows about this jumper mod, I would like to hear about it
     
  10. Webecinya

    Webecinya Active Member

    Posts:
    27
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    So there should be no issues using AFS xenons in a base halogen model? I assumed the lights would function fine just the adaptive part wouldn’t work but I don’t need that option. I just don’t want there to be any quirky issues using AFS.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page