Lucky 8 LR4 ARB Rear Locker

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Troy A

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey all, I know that "why can't I add an ARB rear locker to my LR4" thread has been done to death here and elsewhere. If you're not familiar with it, ARB came out with the rear locker for any LR3 that did not have the OEM locker and then when they tried to modify it for the LR4, there were some technical blockers - I'm not a mechanic but if I remember correctly it was that there a variety of spline sizes and they could not reliably and predictably 100% of the time ensure that the rear locker would work on every single LR4 so they took it off the market and branded it as LR3 only.

Well, according to Lucky 8, they have a "drop in ARB-based rear locker." You pull your factory (non-HD, non-rear-locker) diff, drop in theirs and send your old one back.

Has anybody here done this? I have googled the crap out of it and can't find any positive reviews. Either they are sending you an LR4 diff with the right spline or maybe an LR3 diff that happens to work in the LR4. Not sure how they're pulling this off.

Anybody here have first-person knowledge of what they're doing and/or experience installing it? I'm leery of this option but if I want a rear locker on my 2013 I either go this route or swap the vehicle. I know that there is a third option which is dropping in all the OEM components and messing with the harness and the ECUs - I'm not interested in that route.

Thanks in advance. And if I missed any threads on this, feel free to redirect me.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

avslash

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Have you called them to ask? Very friendly every time I have spoken with them.

Good luck. I know a lot of guys say you can get by just fine without one, but not once have I regretted having the lockers in mine.

Troy A