"Ping" sound from engine when cold

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ryanjl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Did a cold startup on my 2012 yesterday morning and heard a "ping" sound coming from somewhere near the top or front of the engine, repeating at around a 1-second cadence.

It was about 15 degrees out. I let the engine idle and it gradually got quieter, then stopped when the engine warmed up.

Any guesses?

This was the morning after I realized my battery has probably given up the ghost, but it seems as if the problems are unrelated.

Pfunk951

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hmmm.. Maybe a sticky valve? I'm not an expert on the timing chain issue, but this doesn't sound like that.. A repetitive "ping" makes me think something was being struck, like a cam lobe slapping a valve, and once it was moving/lubricated/a little warmer it went away.. I have a mechanic's stethoscope if you need to track it down..

Let us know if it keeps happening..

Mike

ryanjl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The first I heard the pinging sound was on Sunday morning, after having parked outside overnight. Let it warm up, drove about 20 minutes, parked it for about 3 hours, and then drove it again for about 3 hours. Did not hear the pinging sound on the second startup, but it had risen to around 25 or 30 degrees out by then.

Did not drive it yesterday as I knew it needed a new battery and the stores were closed.

Picked up a new battery today, then started it up this afternoon. The pinging sound was back. It was around 15 degrees out again. It's actually at a frequency faster than one ping per second, but does not seem tied to the cadence of the belt. Goes away after I let the engine run for a few minutes. Drove 2.7 hours home.