Reset eco start/stop

BriComp

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Posts
21
Reaction score
12
Location
Arizona
It seems the majority are not a fan of the LR4 eco start/stop but the OCD in me hates when things do not work that should. It seems to get out of whack every so often and needs to be 'reset' by the dealer, who do not charge, but super inconvenient. Is there a way to reset the feature using the IID tool? It seemed that by reading any update to the system did so but I have not seen that. Thanks
 

Elchino

New Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2016
Posts
3
Reaction score
0
I have the eco start/stop light turn on in my 16 LR4 and last time this happened the dealer had to replace the battery that controls this feature (per service advisor)

what are you experiencing with start/stop that can be fixed with a reset?
 

BriComp

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Posts
21
Reaction score
12
Location
Arizona
It simply stops working. No lights, no issues, but apparently the logic that determines that the engine should stop can get 'out of whack'. They always test the battery levels and then reset the battery monitoring system. That will work from 2 days to 6 months.
 

BriComp

Member
Joined
Sep 5, 2020
Posts
21
Reaction score
12
Location
Arizona
OK - found the answer. It does require the GAP tool although speaking with their support they were not even aware of this 'feature'. Basically, the system monitors and stores battery information regarding its ability to perform the ECO start/stop. If that data is invalid, corrupt, whatever then the feature just stops working. To correct this:

  1. Validate the primary battery is within spec
  2. Validate the secondary battery is within spec
  3. Reset the battery stored monitoring data (4.7.8 in the GAP manual)
  4. Run the engine for 5+ mins. Turn off engine/system
  5. Repeat #4 2 times

For #3 I reset both the primary and secondary backup in your tool although I am not sure both are required (that wasn’t made clear to me). After I did, everything began working again.
 

tex_jag

Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2016
Posts
16
Reaction score
6
Thanks for the detailed steps, I am one of those who do not like the feature, but this will save me a trip to the dealer if the fault pops up.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2017
Posts
23
Reaction score
7
Location
Venice Area - Italy
It simply stops working. No lights, no issues, but apparently the logic that determines that the engine should stop can get 'out of whack'. They always test the battery levels and then reset the battery monitoring system. That will work from 2 days to 6 months.

First:
There ia a JLR SW update to solve this.....
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
35,552
Posts
209,702
Members
29,803
Latest member
Sandy007
Top