1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Reset eco start/stop

Discussion in 'LR4' started by BriComp, Oct 26, 2020.

  1. BriComp

    BriComp Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Location:
    Arizona
    It seems the majority are not a fan of the LR4 eco start/stop but the OCD in me hates when things do not work that should. It seems to get out of whack every so often and needs to be 'reset' by the dealer, who do not charge, but super inconvenient. Is there a way to reset the feature using the IID tool? It seemed that by reading any update to the system did so but I have not seen that. Thanks
     
    Elchino likes this.
  2. Elchino

    Elchino New Member

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2016
    I have the eco start/stop light turn on in my 16 LR4 and last time this happened the dealer had to replace the battery that controls this feature (per service advisor)

    what are you experiencing with start/stop that can be fixed with a reset?
     
  3. BriComp

    BriComp Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Location:
    Arizona
    It simply stops working. No lights, no issues, but apparently the logic that determines that the engine should stop can get 'out of whack'. They always test the battery levels and then reset the battery monitoring system. That will work from 2 days to 6 months.
     
  4. BriComp

    BriComp Member

    Posts:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2020
    Location:
    Arizona
    OK - found the answer. It does require the GAP tool although speaking with their support they were not even aware of this 'feature'. Basically, the system monitors and stores battery information regarding its ability to perform the ECO start/stop. If that data is invalid, corrupt, whatever then the feature just stops working. To correct this:

    1. Validate the primary battery is within spec
    2. Validate the secondary battery is within spec
    3. Reset the battery stored monitoring data (4.7.8 in the GAP manual)
    4. Run the engine for 5+ mins. Turn off engine/system
    5. Repeat #4 2 times

    For #3 I reset both the primary and secondary backup in your tool although I am not sure both are required (that wasn’t made clear to me). After I did, everything began working again.
     
  5. tex_jag

    tex_jag Member

    Posts:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Thanks for the detailed steps, I am one of those who do not like the feature, but this will save me a trip to the dealer if the fault pops up.
     
  6. Daniele Gardellin

    Daniele Gardellin Member

    Age:
    54
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Location:
    Venice Area - Italy
    First:
    There ia a JLR SW update to solve this.....
     

Share This Page