Things to look for on a high mileage LR4

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ed Rustioni

Reaction score
I am looking at a couple of LR4s, a 2010 HSE with 87,000 miles and a 2012 HSE LUX with 107,000.

I am new to the Land Rover world, but know I should ask about service history etc., specifically about the timing chain and tensioners, water pump and control arms.

Is there anything else I should make a point of asking specific questions about?

Thanks!

ryanjl

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ask about any coolant leaks and if anything was done to address them.

Ask about any air suspension components that have been replaced.

Whether the transmission fluid has been changed.

In general, ask where these vehicles have been serviced at, and if you can get a printout of everything that's been done.

Ask what sort of oil they use in an oil change, and how often the oil has been changed.

PaulLR3

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You should be able to take the VIN to your local LR dealer and have them print out the dealer service history. The one with 87K may need new diff fluids, transfer case fluid, transmission service, spark plugs, fan belt and more. The one with 107K should have had all of those done by now if it was well maintained.

Plus, with the Lux you get more features like nicer leather, cooler box, better sound system, memory seats, etc.

Ed Rustioni

Reaction score
So the 2012 with 107K has had a decent amount of work done. In the last 15,000 miles it has had the front control arms replaced, front wheel bearings replaced, front brakes replaced, new water pump, new coolant crossover pipes and a new starter. It looks like they used Mobil 1 full synthetic for oil changes. The dealer is asking $18,000 for this one, pretty sure I can get him down further.