To upgrade head bolts or not?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm in the process of rebuilding a 5.0 SC engine and I have a decision to make. As I'm not a machinist by trade I thought I would float this out there to those who have more experience in this area than me.

Upon disassembling my engine, I discovered I have the original style M10 size bolts. A little later LR upsized these bolts to M11. I have read several threads about guys boring and re-tapping the original M10 holes to accept the newer M11 bolts, but I wonder if it's worth it?

I have run into issues boring and re-threading blocks before, and I'm wondering if it's riskier to use the smaller M10 bolts or to machine, helicoil and use the M11 bolts?

Full disclosure, I plan un upping the HP of this engine as soon as I can afford it...probably looking to make close to 600HP or so. (Assuming I can find someone to re-VIN my SC ECU so I can fit it into my LR4....but that's a whole other thread!).

Anyone out there done this before? Pros - Cons?

avslash

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Not a machinist here, but would lean towards "do it once, do it right". Especially on a boosted application.

I doubt LR incurred the cost to up the bolt size for no reason.

Tapps33

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yeah, that's kinda what I was thinking....

Plus, I've heard People have had issues re-torquing head bolts in these aluminum blocks. If I have to go in and use the head kit anyway, I might as well upsize!

FYI, this is the kit I'm planning on using:

A few guys on a different forum have used them with great success. I like it because it comes with a jig and everything you need to do the job right!

greiswig

Full Access Member
Reaction score