Defender 110 Resale Value Risk

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

piekas

Reaction score
Newbie here. If Land Rover were ever to decide to import a Defender to the U.S. again (say in 2013 when the new Defender is out), are the folks paying big dollars for old defenders (say $70k for a fully restored 1993 NAS) going to take a beating? Even at a lower level, $20k for 110s from the early 80s. How risky of an investment are these cars?

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum... anyone that spends that kind of money 70k for a 1993 will lose lots of money... it will not hold its value in my opinion, but then again I think it is crazy that the 1997's (last year of the D90 in the states) still sell for what they cost new...

kingfishgrapeja

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Not familiar with the defender but that sounds like a classic blown CV joint. Look for grease all over the inside of your left front wheel.

TS888

Reaction score
"Investment" and "Car" are two words that have emptied the wallets of many a punter. Ask anyone who bought a Ferrari in the 90's...

Chances are a new Defender will be very expensive in the US, and it will be targeted at the luxury car market, with more electromagic controls, power mod cons, etc. The primary buyers of new Defenders in the US will be the Chelsea tractor crowd (or in US terms, the Connecticut tractor crowd). If we're lucky, the rap stars will stick to Escalades.