New Discovery; Few Problems

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Rich_98

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I got a 98 Disco I last week, and I must say it's damned rugged! I love the piece of machanery overall, but there are a few minor items that are just driving me nuts, I was hoping the regulars on here could help me out. (I'm a car-maintaining novice unfortunatly.)

1) The passenger side floor is constantly wet. After searching the forums I guess gunk builds up in the AC unit, and you need to have the dealer blow it out. Was going to go bring it over there soon and have them do it, unless someone else knows a cheaper way to do it.

2) There is a near-constant squeak coming from the front wheel-wells. I've been told it's dirty pads, but I would like to know if anyone else has had this problem or something similar. When I first start the car, it's not there, after driving around a few minutes it slowly comes in, then into a constant "squeeeekk" - When I depress the brakes the squeak goes away.

3) The alternator is whining - no biggey; needs better grounding? (Saw an article on this, but can't find it again)

Otherwise, I love this car! It's a beast! Working on installing new speakers, as the stock ones leave a bit to desire. Going 100% alpine Type X speakers, with Type R 12'' Subs. After that going to start replacing the cars internals, and possibly go with a super-charger for a bit more 'kick' while driving.

Thanks for all the informative posts on the forum everyone! It's been a great reasoruce so far!

Rich O.

Slam

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score