'98 Rover will not start after immobilizing remotes

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

diolmaker

Reaction score
Newbie here.
I just picked up a '98 Range Rover yesterday (61k) and drove it 350 miles home in sub zero weather to have it not start today. The car started fine but the remote wasn't working.

Being the tinkering fool I am, before reading up on the remotes or anti-theft system, I took apart and removed the batteries from the remotes thinking that I would start ownership with fresh batteries the next day. Well next day being today, I went to start my new used Rover with out batteries in the remote and nothing. I went and replaced batteries and started all the different methods to synch and remobilize the truck to start. Nothing. The remotes do not work and the truck will not start.

Currently when I try synching or the lock and unlock sequences with the vehicle code and or 1515, all I get is beeps, flashing markers and dash lights with a message "Key in ignition" when the key isn't in and when I get out.

The battery the seller put in yesterday was a used battery too. Should I try a fresh battery? It does appear to have a charge. Also it is below zero out side. How much does the frigid cold play into this?

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
Check battery first (probably the issue) and use the key to unlock door (drivers). Before trying to start.

diolmaker

Reaction score
Is it common that all other accessories, lights, windows etc.. work but there is not enough juice to activate the system to reprogram properly?

diolmaker

Reaction score
Tried new deep cycle battery

Tried new deep cycle 900 CCA battery and still get nothing in terms of cranking.