New AMK Compressor

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Houm_WA

Full Access Member
Reaction score
So, as my LR3 turned 10 years old, it was time for a new compressor. The new AMK is BIGGER and badder and better than the out-going Hitachi. In preparation for this, I had purchased the re-location bracket from Tactical 4x4. While that bracket was not made to work with my RS Sliders, it certainly helped.

The install is complete, but not without a lot of effort, cooperation and teamwork from Bellevue (WA) Land Rover. These guys comprise the best team of Land Rover Service people I know; from the Manager to the Service Advisor to the Technician. We walked through the re-engineering of the bracket together (I'm an Engineer myself and I literally marked it up for them to attack with the plasma cutter and drill). They kept me in the loop the whole time and asked how I wanted to proceed at various junctures...and the tech even took pictures of what he'd done so he could show me after he was done (since the sliders would cover it all up). They also stuck to the price they'd originally quoted me even though they probably spent more time on it than anticipated.

At the end of the day, we made the AMK fit. It is ~20% louder than the Hitachi was and causes some vibration in the cab but I'm okay with that. In fact...I kind of like it. The main objectives of an install that is mechanically sound and did not involve any modifications to the sliders were met.

I can't say enough about how happy I am with the service I've received from LR Bellevue. They are top notch. It's how it should be done.

Cheers,
Houm

thorgal

Full Access Member
Reaction score