Vehicle Speed Sensor

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

westonben

Reaction score
Hi all,

Newbie here! Just got a 1999 Series 1 Discovery Auto V8 3.9. It' s got an idle problem. 104k km's (c70k miles)

Pulling up in trafiic/lights etc. the revs can drop to the point of stalling and then may recover. Had all sorts of parts replaced: fuel pump, Air Mass Sensor, Temp Sensor, replaced all filters, cleaned throttle body and idle control valve. Problem is better but still there.

Searching the internet, I keep coming back to the Vehicle Speed Sensor (is that the same as the throttle position sensor??). There seems to have been some good write-ups to replace this part, but they don't seem to work any more. Can anyone send me a write-up to replace it or is there a way to test whether this is my problem?

I believe the Throttle position sensor is part of the Exhaust Gas Recirculation System whereas the VSS is part of the Fuel injection System.

Can anyone help? Not even the dealer has been able to diagnose the fault and I'm now getting disheartened.

Thanks

Ben

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
I don't think your issue is the VSS, but I could be wrong.

The VSS tells the ECU how fast you are going, when it goes bad, the engine will seem to lose all power normally about 50 mph, quick test is to change to 3rd gear vice Drive (4th) when it happens, if it goes away it is the VSS.

Your issue sounds more like the TPS which is located right next to the IAC, the TPS and IAC are literally right next to each other. If you clean them both and the issue is still there, I would change the TPS out first.

westonben

Reaction score
I think it's possible to test the TPS with an Ohm Meter (I think I read). Will dig out the manual tonight and take a look. Thanks for the help.

westonben

Reaction score