1997 disco

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jscott11

Reaction score
I am new to land rover always wanted one but could never afford. I stumbled on this 97 disco that really looks and drives nice but the idle is crazy high until it is put into drive. I hired a mechanic and he replaced the entire intake he said that it had some serious vacume leaks. When I picked it up he started it up it idled a little high until it warmed up then was great. I got gas drve it to the car wash. Then the next morning it would not idle at all like it was not getting feul unless i stomped on the gas. I popped the hood and fooled with the throttle body and it started working again but the idle is far to high. it seems every time i touch the throttle body the idle changes a little. I took it back to the mechanic he said I just needed to drive it and let the computer reset everything. I dont really want to let him work on it anymore and am afraid anyone who does work on it will just rip me off. I thought maybe the throttle position sensor or idle control valve just from reading I do have a online manual but I cannot find these parts I need help. by the way I am also wondering If my alternator is functioning properly this vehicle has a small constant steady electril surge and the headlight switch is bad the running lights donot funtion I am replacing that this weekend. UPDATE I also wanted to go through the wiring scenario one more time. When I first got the rover the dash illumination lights and the right rear taillight would not work a fuse was blowing in the inside box. I replaced with a little bigger fuse then a fuse in the engine room started blowing same thing no dash illumination or right rear taillight so I figured out this problem was caused by a pigtail installed by uhaul so I had that repaired. After the repair I replaced the fuse in the engin