1999 DII // Newbie Sounds?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

C

capthook

Okay, let me first explain that I am new to the Land Rover and that this DII is my first. I've always loved their rugged appearance + purpose, and now I enjoy my Rover more than anything.

Only problems are (and they might not BE problems)

> When in a mud pile, or other off-road situation that gets a little hairy the TC light comes on and the car makes a slight 'tick' noise from the driver's side. Sounds like its comming from the dash but I could be wrong. Is this normal?

> After leaving the mud pit (just a puddle really) the other day I noticed a 'wurrrrrring / clicking' sound from the pass. side wheel like something was stuck in there and making sound. Sprayed the wheel down good + took it out again but the wheel still makes noise around 30-40mph. Any suggestions?

Again, I'm new to rover- these could all be normal! Thanks!!

Last edited by a moderator:
S

SteveA

The TC light indicates that the traction control system has kicked in. Perfectly normal in slippery conditions. There is a noise associated with it as the system uses the ABS to apply brake pressure to a spinning wheel. You will hear the same noise when you have to slam on the brakes. Sometimes, you may hear a similar noise on start up as the ABS does a self-check.

As far as the noise from the rear wheel, I wouldn't be surprised if something has gotten stuck between the brake disc and the backing plate. This very common, but is not a serious problem. You may have also just picked up a large rock in the tread of the tire. I wish I could hear it, as it probably would be easy to pinpoint.

Good luck, and enjoy the truck.

Stephen

C

capthook

Thanks so much Stephen. I was wondering about the TC thing, as it does make the same sound @ start up. Normal Normal Normal.

Kewl.