2003 disco, newb looking for some help!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ColorofKris

Reaction score
Hey Folks, so Im new to the whole forum and maintenance rover world. I just got a Land rover Discovery Series II, 2003 with 96k on it, 4.6L Se edition. I picked it up last week it needs a little bit of work. The other day its started leaking, after looking through the engine bay I found that my jack was leaking fluids all over (and a lot of it) After cleaning what I could from it I hoped that it was the only issue regarding leaking. turns out the rover is still leaking and aroma-less fluid, the fluid has dark sediment in it (obviously) but looks to be coming from the front of the transmission. Today I pulled it out of the drive way and a big clunk was made when it was put into drive. When driving a squeaking noise is made when at low speeds, and when the transmission down shifts a shuttering noise is made. Im not entirely sure what maintenance has been done to the truck recently and judging by appearance it might just be some bad seals that need to be replaced. Any thing I should look out for or should note when driving/ looking at/ for what is leaking? Help would be gladly appreciated! Im am going to take it to rover and get it checked out next week but if its something I can do myself with ease Id prefer not to hand over an leg or arm in exchange for a leak.

ColorofKris

Reaction score