Disco II front parking/repeater lamp replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

T

TTjr

Well……
Here I am an new Land Rover Discovery II owner year 2000 model. So nice to meet you all here and I look forward to many years of interaction here on the forum.

I’ve been making lots of horsepower for the last 12 years with four cylinder turbocharged dodge engines and can rebuild that series of engines and transmissions and computers and wire harnesses and body components without looking at the book. But now a new beast challenges me.

And I bow down and ask for guidance… Somewhat embarrassed but I’ll get over it (again).

How do I remove the front parking lamp assemblies so that I can change the parking lamp (light bulbs)? I own the service manual, went to page 86-2-3, but still cannot figure out how to access two out of three lamp assembly fasteners.

So it is embarrassing but fun… And I look forward to guidance from the WetWildWorld
TTjr

Slam

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum Tom!

The lamps are connected with a spring hook mechanism. At least that is how it is on the D1 I believe. Just open the hood and look for the spring mechanism and pull on that. Maybe someone will have a little better instruction for you.

T

TTjr

Thanks Sam

It seems like it is spring loaded but the service manual guides me differently. Lets see who else can give me a hint to this puzzle.

Sergei

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Sorry dude. If it will be for D1 - i'd tell you.. :) Wait for Mike to chime in on D2

Monty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome aboard Tom! If there is a spring hooked to the metal frame behind the headlight, try pulling that spring away from where it's hooked into, small hole, and see if that works.