LR Discovery Regular Maintenance Tips.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Viper

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I am very new to this LR business. I just purchased a Discovery 2000 SE7 with 53,000 Miles one week ago and I would like to get some Maintenance tips. Unfortunately she doesn’t have a service record, and I was wondering if someone can give me some advice on what I need to check and change ? Also I read about the Sea Form, is this something I should do?
I would really appreciate any feedback. :)

V

vray

Don't worry about seafoam yet, go for the basics first. I would change every fluid (oil, diffs, swivels, etc) unless you have a good reason not to (some say changing ATF on a dodgy tranny can cause it to fail...). These trucks thrive on fresh fluids and examining the old fluids will give you an idea of how things are looking internally, whether changes were neglected previously, water getting into the axel, whatever. It will also be a truck bonding experience and LR's seem to like that. Kinda like agirlfriend/wife, they got to get their pound of flesh out of you ;-)

When I change my oil, I add a quart of ATF before I drain and let her idle for 30 minutes, that does a bit of seafoam like cleaning, though maybe not as drastic. I have heard of people adding 2 or 3 quarts.

That is a nice truck you have there, good luck!

D

discoinjapan

Along with the fluids dont forget the filters( Fuel, Oil, Air, ATF ).
I would also flush the cooling sys. and probobly a tune up (plugs, wires, cap, &rotor). If you do it all yourself it shouldnt cost too much.
I would also take a look at the brake pads to see how much life they have left.
Have fun with it

M

mge_1