Soft Brakes?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Heem

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm looking at buying a '96 Discovery SD with a 5spd manual trans. Everything seems to be in good order on this truck but the brakes seem VERY soft. The owner (private sale) tells me he just replaced the pads and seemed puzzled that I thought they were soft. Keep in mind I have no experience with land rovers - I've had Jeeps all my life, but I don't play into the whole "this one thing is better then this other thing" game. - anyway so back to brakes - Thinking that maybe, "well thats just the way they are" I went to drive the first other one I could find to take a test drive on - ended up being a 99, which I know is a different style then the 96 I'm looking at - but the brakes were also very soft. The dealer told me that was normal.

So my question - whats the deal? Are the brakes usually really soft? It feels like they need to be bled, but maybe its just a low-effort braking system?

Thanks,
-Jim

Rich_98

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I just replaced my pads about a month ago, and mine are quite soft as well. - I can't tell you if it's normal, but it's what I experience.

Monty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Mine are somewhat soft too but I've never driven another disco to compare. I just thought that was b/c mine was used and I have no idea how many miles are on this set of pads.

Last edited:

LRWheelman

Full Access Member
Reaction score