Driver Door Window Issue

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ogre420

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is for anyone suffering the problem my sister-in-law faces with her 94'-95' Discovery. I am no expert, mechanic, or had any prior experience with this situation. I just had the ambition to get the job done well by me and at no cost but time itself. Now to my point.

My sister-in-law had an issue with her driver door window being stuck in a position leaving a two inch opening for the elements. After a night of constant rain and a soaked drivers side seat and dash enough was enough.

I searched and searched and found nothing that relates to this problem, so here is my attempt and success.

Step one. Made sure to secure the window in the full up position with lots of masking tape. Be careful since the window is heavy and there is nothing holding it up but the many pieces of tape I used. It did work for me yet I taped the heck out of it so that there was no chance it could fall.

Step two. I removed the interior door panel. (pic 1)

Step three. Removed the track that the window sits in from the bottom of the door where it had fallen. Cleaned it and set it aside.

Step four. I noticed that the window regulator was off track. The track that is about six inches and is mounted inside the door about midway. (pic 2)
The picture shows the track removed. Notice the two mounting holes just above the track.

At this point I had re-connected the regulator arm to the track and tested the system by pressing the window switch many times. With every try the arm would fall off of the six inch track when the window was in the full down position. From here I searched and searched the forums with no luck. In-fact the closest thing I could find was that many people ended up replacing the regulator, but mainly due to a different issue.