LR4 Computer Fault Finder Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Land Rover Joe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Fellow LR4 enthusiasts,

Here in Africa and have been looking at this forum along with some of the other forums such as lr4X4.com (http://forums.lr4x4.com/index.php?act=idx ), LRForums (http://www.lrrforums.com/index.php ), and Landy Zone (http://www.landyzone.co.uk/lz/ ).

Since there is only one dealership in the whole country, and when I go out with the truck it can be quite a ways from any support, I have been seriously considering the need for a fault finder/clearing device. Since I am not a mechanic or a true gear head, I feel something to help me troubleshoot faults to determine problems (like replace a fuse) and then clear simple faults which I can fix or simply need to find a work-around to limp home--therefore clear faults out-- is the right type of device for me.

The collective has not come to any clear decision regarding fault finding or troubleshooting equipment. I am seriously considering Blackbox Solutions’s Faultmate FCR (see website at http://www.blackbox-solutions.com/ ). There are several other devices out there which people have commented on (only up to LR3’s), and I am curious if any LR4 owners have experience with the Faultmate FCR or other such equipment.

Thanks for everyone’s interest!

Happy Trails,
Land Rover Joe

suvowner

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i have an actron, was about 120 bucks.......and i have used it......

Land Rover Joe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
suvowner,

Thanks for the information. I have done some checking on the various actron systems.

However, it does not appear you can clear faults, only read them. Is this true?

Land Rover Joe

Land Rover Joe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Greetings to all,