Just Getting Started, Key lock question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ColeCam

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello all... Im Cole
I am fairly new to discoverys but I have had my share of other 4x4s, Just sold my 75' land Cruiser and bought a discovery... here is my question, I have an issue with my key not turning in the ignition, it is like something is catching internally and wont let it go forward, after working with it a while, it turns over and starts perfect every time as long as I can get the key to rotate forward... I have tried putting the key in different depths, oiling it, locking the steering wheel, leaving it unlocked, etc. I have tried different keys too, so I assume it is not the keys... let me know if anyone has any ideas, and hopefully I can help you out on something else.

Moose

Full Access Member
Reaction score
What year is the Disco? I'm feeling safe in guessing that if it's an old one either the key isn't as "sharp" as it once was (therefore not hitting the lock tumblers correctly) or the ignition cylinder itself is preparing to crap out on you. Do you have trouble with any of the other locks on the truck?

Others may have more advice, suggestions, etc.

ColeCam

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well.. it is a '98 Disco, and the key is original, but I had another key cut, and it does the same thing, unless getting it cut off the potentially "worn" key would cause it to be cut incorrectly. I am guessing that it would also be something in the switch itself, is there a way to just buy the switch as opposed the entire wiring, because once it engages, there isn't any problem.

RoverChic

I love Ryan and Rovers
Reaction score