New Crankshaft Sensor bad?

Discussion in 'Discovery' started by GregDisco2, Jan 13, 2019.

  1. GregDisco2

    GregDisco2 Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    Alabama
    Hey guys,
    I was wondering if someone else has seen this same issue. I have. 2001 Discovery 2 with 135,000 miles on it. About a week ago it just died. It turns over but will not hit. After reading, it seemed the most common symptoms resembled the crankshaft sensor issue. I changed it and all good for a week. Now it has died agin. Same issue, turns over but doesn't hit. I pulled a spark plug and smell gas and get spark when it turns over. I read somewhere that when it turns over I should be seeing the rpm needle move a little, even if not hitting, but it just stays on zero. I'm wondering now if the new sensor died, or if anyone else has seen something similar. I hate to change the sensor again. Thanks to anyone that can help out or lead me in the right direction.
     
  2. joey

    joey Custom Rover Accessories Staff Member

    Posts:
    9,823
    Likes Received:
    61
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Does it have a check engine light? If so, what codes are showing up?
     
  3. GregDisco2

    GregDisco2 Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    Alabama
    Thanks for the reply. No codes are showing. I scanned with an ICarSoft LR V2.0. The 3 amigo lights are on and the check engine light. The check engine light goes out when I try to crank.
     
  4. GregDisco2

    GregDisco2 Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    Alabama
    I was thinking about changing the CKP again. Does it make sense it would be bad after only a week? The symptoms are exactly the same.
     
  5. imackenz

    imackenz New Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Hey - don't know if this helps but I had the exact same problem with my 09D3 - turns out it was a damaged wiring loom (thats another story) I know mine is a D3 and yours a D2 but in your case perhaps just a bad connection / dirty connector somewhere in the loom from the sensor back to the computer.

    just a thought...
     
  6. GregDisco2

    GregDisco2 Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    Alabama
    Damage is possible. However, when I turn the car over and I have my scanner hooked up, it sees rotation of about 200 rpm. I think that means it is seeing the sensor signal. I was wondering about the coil but wouldn’t think both coils would just die at same time.
     
  7. wrldky

    wrldky New Member

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Greg,

    Not saying that this is your issue but I had the exact same problem. Replaced crank sensor twice. Turned out that I had a fuel pump issue. The pump was only a year old so I never suspected it and they make the damn schrader valve so damn hard to get to to check fuel pressure. Anyway that was my issue. New fuel pump solved it.
     
  8. GregDisco2

    GregDisco2 Member

    Age:
    46
    Posts:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2019
    Location:
    Alabama
    Thanks. I don’t have time to do anything until the weekend but that was my next step. Funny thing is when I pulled the plugs, they have fuel on them. I was going to check for water in tank, no obstructions in air flow or the exhaust and check fuel rail pressure. I’m really confused since I have spark, fuel(I tried to check with starter fluid) , and compression. I assumed it doesn’t have a choice but to at least hit a couple of times, but nothing. So I’m going to pull the plugs and blow them off, try to dry out the combustion chamber and try the starter fluid again in case I have moisture in lines or tank.
     
  9. Bm7b5

    Bm7b5 New Member

    Age:
    44
    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Location:
    Berkley, MA
    This was happening to my LR3. I found this YouTube video:
    And it worked. I told a friend what I found and he said it was the Cam Shaft Position sensor. I told the “Rover specialist”, who changed out my fuel pump and filter trying to fix the problem, about my finding and he literally laughed at me. I brought it to a local garage and told him what to do. He used an aftermarket sensor and the truck would start, but stall out (wasn’t stalling before). I brought it to the stealership and told them what to do- Done. 40 dollar part gave a ton of headaches.
    - also no engine light ever came on and no non-engine light producing issues were picked-up by a scanner either.

    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     

Share This Page