Preparing to buy a 2007 LR3 HSE with 75K miles for $15K - what issues to check for?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Raj1

Reaction score
Hello,

I am a novice in this forum. I recently test drove a first-owner 2007 LR3 HSE in the Bay Area with 75K miles on it and fell in love. He is offering it to me for $15K. The car seems to be maintained really well and he has detailed service records for the past 8 years. Carfax came clean too.

Questions:
1. Does this sound like a good deal to you guys?

2. What are the things I should have my mechanic focus upon when inspecting the vehicle before purchase? Any big-ticket / common items in particular to be aware of?

3. I have 3 kids in toddler car seats to accommodate in the LR3 if I go for it. Any issues I should be aware of?

4. What kind of mileage should I expect even though the sticker says 14/19?

5. What sort of annual maintenance bill shall I plan for?

Thanks in advance

Last edited:

jwest

Full Access Member
Reaction score
mpg: exactly that with stock tires and no roof rack which would add a lot of wind drag.

2nd row:
My guess is some types of car seats are too wide but others would work fine. So it depends on yours. Center seat is obviously narrower than the 2 outboard seats.. total width to work with is about 52" max. For example, something like a Land Cruiser 200 series (2008+) is wider in 2nd row seat.

Price: seems fine actually, but it really does depend on what could go wrong in the next 25,000 miles or 1-2 years. It's entering the expensive period for repairs if nothing major has been done yet. Nice records are nice, but mine has had $14k in repairs since 50,000 miles, most of which were in the 75-100k range.