2016 L405 TDV6 Issue Diagnosis

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Farrancampbell

Reaction score
Hey Guys, Im new to the Forum, and I have an issue. It took me a long time to write down all of these codes so please be kind. I have a 2016 Range Rover HSE TDV6 here in the shop (Its actually Mine, I got it from the customer who had it parked for over a year. I am a mechanic) I can’t seem to figure out what is going on with this and would like to get some ideas from some other people. The car went to a Land Rover certified dealership and they pretty much blew me off. They told me that the engine is toast, but they didn’t do any investigation as to where the problem was they said “Customer complains of zero compression and upon visual inspection, oil level is low and there is a lot of sludge in the engine – Recommend replacing engine”. The Truck starts, after about 5 minutes it begins to idle really rough and there is No compression and the car will not move. The tachometer will not rev. I did a compression check on the engine and the car has an average of 330psi on all cylinders give or take 10%. I changed the oil twice, the first time doing a complete flush, to see if it is a sludge build up. I am thinking its something with the high pressure fuel pump, (Being that its on a timing chain connected to a crank, Im thinking the chain may have jumped a tooth) but that is in the back of the engine, and getting to that is arduous to say the least. So before I try the method in checking that I thought I might come here and get some insight.

I ran a scan with my Snap-On scan tool, and it came back with 26 codes. I cleared them and they came right back. Here are the codes:

• P506-00 – Idle Air Control System – RPM Lower than Expected
  • P06DA-13- Engine Oil Pressure Control Circuit/ Open
  • P0AF-97 – Engine Failed to Start