Door lock actuator

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Zende

Full Access Member
Reaction score
How would I know if a door lock actuator is bad? I bought my 95 disco used, without an alarm fob and the locks do not go down when locking the drivers door lock, I hear no power at all.. If I buy an alarm fob do you think it will lock the doors?
Which actuator usually goes first?
My red light for the alarm always flashes, when I leve the vehicle.

Thanks,

lowwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Im new to the disco thing my self but I did have the same problem. Do your drivers side lock go down? If it feels that it gets stuck than i would say its your drivers actuator. If it goes up and down with the key with no problem and the other door locks dont react then the last owners disconnected the switch. So now it will only be a manual door lock. Make any sense?

Zende

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yes, all my door locks push down freely and have to be locked with a key from the outside.. Where may I find the switch if it was disconnected? keep in mind, I also have no key fob for the remote.. If I get the key fob and program it, the locks may work??

Thanks

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score
If you manually lock the drivers door and none of the other doors lock automatically, then you may have a wiring issue or someone by-passed the alarm system.

Zende

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Joey, Is this something I can fix myself or would i need a dealer? What wiring do I look for? Where would they pass the alarm and why?
Would it be more simple to install an aftermarket alarm?
Its really cold here and I ant to purchase and auto start..

Thanks

joey

Custom Rover Accessories
Staff member
Reaction score