Firewall routing

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

geoaustin

Reaction score
Has anyone successfully routed large gauge wires from the battery through the firewall? If so, where would be the best location, or should I have the dealer do it and place a couple of terminals in the back. I am an amature radio operator and would like to install a radio that draws 22amps at maximum use. Right now I have a smaller radio that draws 8 amps connected to the accessory (manual says the plugs are rated to 10amps) plug in the back, but this solution will not work with the new radio. Thanks.

schafari

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I struggled with this for quite some time. I got to the point that I was 5min away from boring a new whole, filing, grommet, etc. As I planned the location, I noticed that I may be able to get through the firewall using a current gasket. From memory, it is the steering arm gasket. To get to it, you have to take out that spare box on the drivers side. I believe I put a small slice in the heavy rubber, ran the cable through, and then sealed it silicone sealant. I covered all wire in looming and secured with zip ties.

Make no mistake. . . I spent hours trying to locate the best place. It was the toughest vehicle I have run into for this. The good news is that it works perfectly.

Bluebird

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Do you think that will affect the "wading" depth of the vehicle? 34" if memory serves.

schafari

Full Access Member
Reaction score