Rover noob needs advice please.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

W

w00ht

Hello all,

I am new to the land rover world and have 99% decided to pick up a Discovery as a secondary vheicle for my family after we close on out house in the coming weeks. In my area I have seen them from 7-11K and figure that it will fit the bill for what I am after. I am looking to build a nice run around truck that will see weekend beach and sand running duty on the outer banks. My problem is that I have zero experience with british vheicles, and don't know what to look out for and what to avoid. I have read all of the usual stuff from msn autos and edmunds, but I figure for the straight dope you need to find a forum such as this.

What kind of issues do these trucks normally have?

What are the top 5 things to look for when shopping for a used disco?

At what average milage do these trucks start to need the more expensive repairs? (IE heater cores, tranny rebuilds, transfer case rebuilds, engine rebuilds etc)

I am not affraid of running into these things, like I said I don't know what to expect and when. I am very mechanicly able, and have been working on my own vheicles for years. I have had lots of Toyota 4wd rigs and have installed my fair share of clutches, axles and lift kits. I have built an engine or two as well.

My current thoughts are for a EMU heavy duty lift with some good AT rubber. followed perhaps an ARB air locker in the rear to help out in the sand.

Any words of wisdom?

Moose

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Well, this is coming from the owner of a 1996 Discovery (Series I).

Watch out for electrical gremlins -- it's one thing the Brits never got right until very recently (when they went away from British electrics in the vehicle).