97 Disco light problem

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

P

paulbrapp

Hello everyone, I am new to the land rover world. I just purchased a 97 Disco a few days ago. Last night when I got in and started it and turned on the lights. The lights would flicker, headlights and interior lights. I am not sure what the problem could be. Any help would be greatly appreaciated.

Also the light behind my temperature contols I believe is burned out. Is that an easy fix? I am unsure as to how to remove the paneling.

Thanks,
Paul

D

discomike

Paul,
I may not be much help on this, but the only thing that comes to mind is a dirty fuse, bad connection, bad ground or failing light switch.
Which I could be of more help,
Mike J.

96Discose7

Paul, welcome to the mostly wonderful world of rover ownership....
for your dimming issue, sounds like the alternator might be tired, you can have many places check your charging system, could be failing brushes in the alt. [did lights become brighter after bringing the revs up past 2000?, this is the point where the alt will kick in] as for your dash lights , thats easy, two screws up front of the console and lift off and back the trim shroud then you will see a left and right screw for the cluster, but you have to get the bulbs from the dealer, they will be the black base i belive, also good time to check any other bulbs that might be out while you are there....
also, go ahead and have all your fluids changed if you do not know when they were last changed, then at least you will have a base to go by.... good luck and let us know how you make out -Andy

P

paulbrapp

Thank you both for your help, I will keep you posted as to what the problem was. I must say that this is a great website...

96Discose7

also....

check your belts, they might be slipping, some other tests you can do are: