Accessory connections and firewall access

Discussion in 'LR4' started by Bogwhoppit, Jul 19, 2019.

  1. Bogwhoppit

    Bogwhoppit Full Access Member

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    Shamong, NJ
    Hello all,

    Can anyone recommend the best place to tap into 12v acc (ignition powered) near the battery? I'm looking at installing an sPOD, for some future accessories, but before I go tapping into wires, I thought someone might have a better solution.
     
  2. Bogwhoppit

    Bogwhoppit Full Access Member

    Age:
    49
    Posts:
    75
    Likes Received:
    31
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2016
    Location:
    Shamong, NJ
    I'll reply lol. Add a circuit for 12v aac ignition power, and the best/easiest place to pull a wire through the firewall is not the spare grommet hiding up high behind the master cylinder, its where the main wiring harness goes through lower down on the firewall, to the left of the steering column.
     
  3. AdventureTim

    AdventureTim Active Member

    Age:
    36
    Posts:
    31
    Likes Received:
    17
    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2017
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    I'm going to have to tackle this soon. I've tried (unsuccessfully) to access the is the spare grommet next to the master cylinder, but it's a nightmare to get to (especially in the 2014+).

    How did you reuse the existing grommet for the main loom? From what I recall by looking at it, it looked pretty snug.
     
  4. bbyer

    bbyer Full Access Member

    Posts:
    699
    Likes Received:
    57
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Location:
    Alberta
    I see you are not getting much in the way of replies.

    I have an LR3 which per below has a fuse box located beside the main starting battery in the engine compartment. I do not know if the LR4 has the same thing but if it does, that may be the answer.

    My fuse box has a few locations for relays and fuses that are empty.

    While I have never checked to see if any of the plug in terminals under the missing relays or fuses are powered, I would suggest you take a voltmeter and probe the terminals with the engine running to see if any are hot.

    If so, then with the engine off, which are hot or not?

    I do not know how many amps you are planning to draw on your new setup but if you find one terminal on the ignition, then you might use it to power a relay and source main power directly from the battery thru a fuse.

    You definitely want a fuse or fuses somewhere at the front end of where you are taking power from for both the relay circuit and main circuit.

    If you can try that procedure, let us all know as to if it works or not.

    Fuse Panel description vertical b.JPG Fuse Panel engine top view IMGP0529.JPG
     

Share This Page