Disable Eco start/stop action permanently

Apache

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Posts
21
Reaction score
4
Location
South Carolina
Thanks for the additional info. I don't want to sound sarcastic, but it looks like the easiest and most dependable way would be just not wear the seat belt. That being the case, you would think LR would have a permanent procedure.
Tks. Billy H
 

Stuart Barnes

Full Access Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Posts
442
Reaction score
229
Location
Los Angeles
Yep. It’s really surprising as the later vehicles you can disable the start stop full time.
But I look at it like this, I used to put a key in the ignition and turn it to start the engine. Now I press a button then another. It’s become second nature but the “eco” indicator lamp on the instrument binnacle is a bit ott
 

jlglr4

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Posts
821
Reaction score
421
Location
Northern California
Very easy to permanently deactivate auto stop/start, with no side effects, on the New Discovery Td6. If anyone decides to trade up to a D5 diesel, revisit this thread and I'll post a photo.
Please post. Someone else mentioned that it was easy to disable in D5 and I’m curious how it’s done. Apparently there was a way to do it in the older RRS as well, though I’m not sure.

On other vehicles, someone engineered a little circuit interrupt timer that would make the car see an open hood (bonnet) for a few seconds as soon as the ignition was on, which apparently shuts down the start/stop system for the entire time the engine is running in that session. Because its a timer, it shuts off after just a moment, so the car then sees a closed hood. I don’t know if something like that would work here or not.
 

DallasLoneStar

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2021
Posts
50
Reaction score
20
Location
Dallas, TX
Maybe this is helpful…

my wife drives a VW Atlas, and the way Atlas people disable stop/start is to use the equivalent to the GAP IID tool for VW (forget what it’s called) to change the minimum battery voltage for stop/start to be active to something way high like 16V. Works great on her Atlas. I actually forgot it used to do that / have that “feature” Haha. Does anyone know if there is a setting we can change like that?
 

Apache

Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Posts
21
Reaction score
4
Location
South Carolina
Raising the minimum battery voltage setting for this function sound like a easy fix. I wonder is anyone knows if it is adjustable, and if it would effect anything else? Tks
 

Stuart Barnes

Full Access Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Posts
442
Reaction score
229
Location
Los Angeles
On the later vehicles, velar and new rrs (I’ve first hand experience with only)there’s an option in the instrument cluster to disable the start stop function permanently. It’s as simple as that. Or put it into “dynamic” mode and it disables the start stop as well.
 

Stuart Barnes

Full Access Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2019
Posts
442
Reaction score
229
Location
Los Angeles
Interesting idea about the hood/bonnet switch. That may be an idea to try. It should be simple to put in a timed relay assuming it’s a simple open closed switch circuit.
 

jlglr4

Full Access Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2019
Posts
821
Reaction score
421
Location
Northern California
The thing I don’t know about the LR4 is whether the eco stop/start stays disabled after the hood is closed. My eco doesn’t work (for reasons unknown), so I can’t test it.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
35,624
Posts
210,390
Members
29,902
Latest member
saopesoko
Top